Smack Mellon's Hot Picks program was launched in 2007. The top artists, as selected from the Studio Program applicants by a panel of esteemed curators, arts professionals, and established artists, are featured on the Smack Mellon website for one year.

The panelists who selected the 2016-2017 Studio Artists were: Larissa Harris, Curator, Queens Museum; Amanda Hunt, Assistant Curator, The Studio Museum in Harlem; Nat Trotman, Curator, Performance and Media, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York.

Preliminary panelists were: Golnar Adili, Ira Eduardovna, Steffani Jemison, Franziska Lamprecht (of eteam), Lori Nix, Chat Travieso, all former Smack Mellon Studio Artists.

The Smack Mellon Artist Studio Program is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the City Council, New York City Council Member Stephen Levin, the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature, the National Endowment for the Arts, and with generous support from The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, The Edward and Sally Van Lier Fund of The New York Community Trust, Jerome Foundation, Gilbert Mackay Foundation, The Robert Lehman Foundation, The Greenwich Collection Ltd, Milton and Sally Avery Arts Foundation Inc., Select Equity Group Foundation, and Smack Mellon’s Members.

Smack Mellon programs are also made possible with generous support from The Roy and Niuta Titus Foundation, Lily Auchincloss Foundation, Inc., Lambent Foundation, The O’Grady Foundation, Iorio Charitable Foundation, and Exploring The Arts.

Space for Smack Mellon’s programs is generously provided by the Walentas family and Two Trees Management.